Because Arizona is a “fault” state when it comes to car accident liability, you do not have to turn to your own insurance’s personal injury protection to collect compensation after a collision. If another driver was at fault for the accident, a Phoenix car accident lawyer from Zanes Law can help you pursue them and their insurer for damages.
At Zanes Law, we help injury victims in the Phoenix area recover the compensation they deserve, and we also assist in any way we can as they navigate through the emotionally draining timeline of weeks and months that follow a serious injury. We never charge a fee to our clients until we recover money for them. To set up a free case evaluation to learn how Zanes Law can help you, call us today at 602-999-9999.
Arizona’s Car Accident Fault Laws
When it comes to car accident liability, states follow either “fault” or “no-fault” laws.
In a no-fault state, it ultimately does not matter who caused the accident where liability is concerned, because the state requires each driver to file a claim for damages with their own insurance.
This is where personal injury protection comes in. A driver in a no-fault state turns to their personal injury protection policy to pay for costs associated with bodily injury from a car accident: medical bills, prescriptions, lost wages from work, and so forth. Many no-fault states, such as Florida, require drivers to carry personal injury protection because of their inability under the law to go after the at-fault driver.
In a fault state, the driver responsible for causing the accident is liable for the injuries suffered by others in the collision. If they carry liability coverage—which nearly all states require—then their insurance company generally foots the bill for the other parties’ injuries, up to the at-fault driver’s policy limits.
Some fault states have comparative negligence laws, where damages get awarded to each driver based on their share of the liability. Other states have contributory negligence laws, which bar drivers from collecting damages if they were even 1% at fault for the accident.
Arizona is a fault state that follows a pure comparative negligence law. Under this system, you can potentially recover damages from the other driver whether you were 0%, 50%, or even 99% at fault.
A Zanes Law attorney can review your accident and let you know what to expect. The consultation and case evaluation are free. To speak with a member of our team today, call 602-999-9999.
Arizona Car Insurance Laws
Because Arizona is a fault state, it requires all drivers to exercise financial responsibility, which includes carrying certain levels of liability coverage. Liability insurance pays for property damage and bodily injury incurred by other drivers and passengers in an accident.
The required levels of coverage in Arizona are:
- $15,000 for the bodily injury or death of one person in an accident
- $30,000 for the combined bodily injury or death of all persons in an accident
- $10,000 for property damage to other vehicles in an accident
If an at-fault driver causes more damage than their policy limits cover, the injured party or parties can file a claim against the driver. The Zanes Law team has fought and won many such cases. No matter how your Arizona car accident occurred or how severe your injuries are, we can help. For a free case evaluation, call us today at 602-999-9999.
Damages You Can Recover After a Phoenix Car Accident
A severe car accident may involve substantial property damage and bodily injury. If another driver was partly or fully at fault for the collision, you can recover a number of damages from the driver and their insurer. These include:
Our attorneys help you receive compensation not only for your current medical expenses but also for those you anticipate incurring in the future.
If you have had to miss work while recovering from your injury, our attorneys help you collect compensation for the wages you have missed.
Reduced Earning Capacity
We also pursue the responsible party or parties and their insurers for money to compensate you for any reduction in your ability to earn a living in the future.
If your loved one lost their life in a Phoenix car accident, we can help you pursue wrongful death damages, which include the above forms of compensation, as well as funeral expenses, loss of companionship, loss of parental guidance, and more.
Even if you believe you were partly or mostly at fault for your accident, our team can protect your rights and even help you recover compensation. For a free case evaluation, call Zanes Law today at 602-999-9999.
The Car Accident Statute of Limitations in Arizona
The statute of limitations to file a car accident injury claim under Arizona law is generally two years, but caveats and exceptions may apply. It is always a good idea to speak with an attorney as soon as possible after your accident so that you can have a team of professionals by your side from the beginning. You can schedule a free case evaluation with Zanes Law right away by calling 602-999-9999.
Call Zanes Law Today at 602-999-9999 for a Free Case Evaluation in Phoenix
The car accident lawyers at Zanes Law want to get to work for you right away. We will come to you whenever and wherever it is convenient—in your home, at your office, in the hospital, or even over the phone. We offer a free case evaluation and do not collect a fee until you recover money. Call us today if you want to file or appeal a denied car accident insurance claim at 602-999-9999.