A Potential New Law May Decrease Fees For Speeding Under 10 Miles Per Hour

Laws for the highway may change the driving scene in Arizona. A bill that would drastically cut the amount in fines that drivers have to pay has made its way through the Arizona State Senate and is now on its way to the Arizona House of Representatives.

According to a story reported on the AZ Family website, S.B. 1669 would limit the dollar amount of fines that drivers would have to pay if they were going less than 10 miles per hour over the posted speed limit.  Rather than speeding, drivers would be cited for “waste of a finite resource,” which would carry a fine of $15. 

The bill has significant advantages for drivers, but it also offers challenges to a part of Arizona’s flow of income. State Senate Republicans were overwhelmingly in favor of the bill, but Senate Democrats raised concerns that the legislation would cut badly needed revenue for the state and would actually encourage more people to speed on Arizona highways. 

Democratic Senator Martin Quezada said in a statement that while no one wants a speeding ticket, several state programs are in need of the monies which come from the fines.

S.B. 1669 still has to be passed by the Arizona House of Representatives and signed by the Governor before it goes into effect.  

The bill, if it becomes law, would not apply to drivers who are cited for going 20 miles per hour over the speed limit, and they would still face criminal penalties and fines.


Related Frequently Asked Questions

  • 07 Jan 2019
    Can I Be Compensated for Lost Income After a Car Accident?
    You may be able to recover compensation for lost wages after being in an Arizona car accident. There are many costs associated with a car accident including medical bills, property damage, and lost income. If another party is at fault for your injuries, then they may also be responsible for your lost wages.
  • 07 Jan 2019
    What Kind of Timeline Should I Expect for My Car Accident Case?
    The first step in filing a car accident case is to schedule a free case evaluation. This should happen after you have reported the accident and called for medical help. If you receive any medical care during this time, be sure to document everything. These medical records will be important to your car acciden

Related Blog Posts

Get Your Free Case Evaluation

If you or a loved one has suffered an injury, or worse... we are here to help.
Please don't hesitate to reach out.

Zanes Law Logo
Click to call
x

Get Your Free Case Evaluation

By submitting this form I agree to the Terms of Use