The law requires drivers in Arizona to take specific actions after an accident. Most of the time, one of these steps is to report a car accident. Repercussions, such as a hit-and-run charge, may result from not reporting a car collision when obligated to do so.
Reporting your car accident is also important for insurance reasons. To best protect your rights and preserve your claim after a crash, one necessary item to have on hand is a copy of your Arizona car accident report.
Where you obtain one will depend on the responding police organization. If you work with an Arizona car accident attorney, he or she can help you get a copy of the police report. Alternatively, you can obtain it on your own, sometimes within a day of the incident.
Your Car Accident Report Can Come from a Variety of Police Agencies in Arizona
The officer on the scene will immediately file an accident report once they have collected enough evidence to do so. However, depending on where the accident happened and who responded to the scene, you may have to locate a copy of your police report from a specific agency.
You’ll need to contact the local police department if the collision took place within their jurisdiction, such as on a public street in a town or a county road. Many police departments have a police report records request you can fill out online. Some of these jurisdictions are:
- Scottsdale Police Department
- Phoenix Police Department
- Tucson Police Department
- Tempe Police Department
- Glendale Police Department
- Mesa Police Department
You can get a copy of your crash report from many sheriff’s offices and local police departments online, but be prepared to pay a $5 report cost in addition to the convenience fee.
Obtaining a Report in Maricopa County
In the case of the Maricopa County Sheriff’s Office, for instance, a copy of the report is made available within a week to two at the most. It takes at least 14 days for the Arizona Department of Public Safety to provide a copy of a crash report that was investigated by a trooper on a state roadway or interstate. If a state highway patrolman responded to the scene, you can try the Arizona Department of Public Safety.
Receiving a copy by mailing, email, or fax will cost you $9 according to Arizona DPS. A CD copy will cost you $10.
For a free legal consultation, call 866-499-8989
Arizona Law Regarding Car Accident Reports
Arizona law says that drivers must report all car accidents that cause injuries or damage, regardless of how minor they seem to be. If a crash occurs in Arizona, whether it is small, serious, or involves a parked unattended vehicle, you should call the police. Reporting your accident means calling 911 right away, preferably while you are still at the scene of the crash.
When you call 911, you will be connected to the local police in the municipality where your car accident happened. In Arizona, if a car accident is serious, police officers have to report it. §28-667 of the Arizona Revised Statutes says that a police officer who investigates a car accident that causes any of the following damages must turn in a written police report within 24 hours:
- Property loss or damage of an amount over $2,000
- Injury to a person
- When a citation is issued to a driver
The time, date, and location of the car collision are all required pieces of information in such a report. All parties will have their names and details listed, as well as evidence that they are insured. Lastly, it will have a description of what happened in the car accident and a diagram of the scene.
Why Is a Police Report Necessary?
The names and contact information of all other people involved in the accident, such as drivers, passengers, and witnesses who may have spoken to the police or given statements, will be included in a police report. Police should include information about the involved vehicle’s insurance policy in their report.
The following explains why all of this information is so vital:
- An insurance company can dispute the existence of a collision if it isn’t reported.
- You might not be able to find the other driver without filing a report.
The insurance company may claim the accident wasn’t significant enough to warrant coverage without a car accident report. Since the insurance company will argue that you would have called for aid if the accident had been serious enough to inflict injuries, it is best to file the report.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Contact an Attorney for Help
If what you remember from your accident doesn’t match the report, make a note of it and contact a car accident attorney. Zanes Law can review your claim and help you to understand your legal options.
Call or text 866-499-8989 or complete a
Free Case Evaluation form