Arizona lawmakers recently passed a proposal that has significantly lowered the price of a speeding ticket for some speeders.
The proposal, House Bill 2662 (more information click here) would expand the use of one of Arizona’s quirkier laws, which is the ban on the “waste of finite resources,” which would include a ticket that costs about $15…
Wait a minute…
Yup, you skeptics out there were correct – there’s a catch — this can only be used when the driver is going between 1 and 10 miles per hour above the speed limit.
For instance, in a 75 [mph] zone, one can get this “golden” $15 ticket if caught going 80 [mph]. The current law is one that is rarely used (here comes the biggest catch), because someone can only get a “waste of finite resources” ticket by going between 56 and 65 mph in a 55 mph zone.
And well … rumor has it, It’s not easy to find a 55 mph speed limit these days!
However, the bill would apply that to all standard speed limits; therefore drivers pulled over for exceeding the speed limit anywhere by 10 mph or less could be fined for wasting resources such as gas or diesel or electricity. This would trump, the often excess ticket of a few hundred dollars.
The bill however, holds its own limits not extending to school zones, construction zones, or residential areas where the fine will continue to cost you a pretty penny.
Although the “catch” seems reasonable ($15?!), other benefits include your insurance company staying out of the whole matter. In fact, zero points are tacked on to your license and your insurance doesn’t increase to eventually cost an arm and leg!
For a free legal consultation, call 866-499-8989
However, just because the fine is a small dollar amount, as personal injury lawyers who represent many accident victims due to car accidents, we DO NOT recommend speeding at all. Speeding in high traffic areas such as Phoenix, Arizona can result in a number of unnecessary auto accidents and severe injuries.
*Hendley, M. (2015, February 18). Arizona’s Speeders Could Get Much Cheaper Tickets. Retrieved March 1, 2015.
What’s your opinion on the recently passed bill?
Call or text 866-499-8989 or complete a
Free Case Evaluation form