Collision Leaves Children In Life-Threatening Condition

The U.S. Department of Transportation and ADOT have determined that child restraint, and seatbelt laws save lives in case of an accident. In the state of Arizona, all children under the age of 5 must be in a car seat. Children who are 5 to 8 years of age are required to ride in a booster seat unless they are 4 feet 9 inches tall. The Arizona Legal Code also specifies that minors who are 8 to 16 years of age must wear a seatbelt in a motor vehicle at all times.

NBC 12 News in Phoenix reports that a collision at 57th and Grand Avenues in Glendale has sent several people to the hospital on Monday, June 24th.

A spokesperson for the Glendale Police Department said in a statement that the crash happened in the early evening when a pickup truck was making a left turn at the intersection and was struck by a northwest bound sedan.

One adult and one child between 5 and 6 years of age were in the pickup truck, while two adults and four children ranging in age from 2 weeks to 8 years old were in the sedan.

Authorities say that all three adults and several of the children have been taken to an area hospital for treatment with life-threatening conditions. However, all were later upgraded to being in stable condition.

The cause of the crash is still currently under investigation. Investigators are also trying to determine whether seatbelts and proper child restraints were in use inside both vehicles at the time of the crash.

Police have not yet filed any charges in connection with the crash.


Related Frequently Asked Questions

  • 10 Dec 2019
    What To Do Right After A Car Accident In Phoenix, AZ?
    The moments following a car accident can be dizzying, jarring, and downright terrifying. Your car is smashed to pieces, you are likely in pain, and you may not even know the extent of your injuries or what the days and weeks to come will have in store. In such a stressful, nerve-wracking moment, it can be
  • 29 Oct 2019
    I Haven’t Been Able To Return To Work After A Car Accident, How Can I Afford A Lawyer In Phoenix, AZ?
    If you have not been able to return to work after a car accident, you may think you are unable to afford a lawyer in Phoenix, AZ. However, the State Bar of Arizona supports that most car accident lawyers do not require upfront payment for their services. Most personal injury lawyers work on what is called

Related Blog Posts

  • 02 Jun 2015
    Tracy Morgan Lawsuit Finally Settles
    Many fans of the famous (now ended) sitcom, 30 Rock, anxiously followed the news after beloved actor and comedian Tracy Morgan was involved in a trucking accident. (more…)
  • 29 Jul 2015
    Rear Impact Guards Could Be Saving Lives
    We’ve written a lot about truck accidents here on the Zanes Blog because… well…. we see a lot of those cases come through our doors… (more…)

Get Your Free Case Evaluation

If you or a loved one has suffered an injury, or worse... we are here to help.
Please don't hesitate to reach out.

Zanes Law Logo
Click to call
x

Get Your Free Case Evaluation

By submitting this form I agree to the Terms of Use