Arizona Police To Look Closer For Unbelted Drivers

In the state of Arizona, both drivers and passengers in a motor vehicle are required to wear seatbelts. All U.S. states have similar requirements in place because it has long been proved that seatbelts do save lives.

KTAR reports that Arizona motorists may be facing closer scrutiny by police and highway patrol officers to enforce the law. This latest push comes after a bill was recently signed into law by Governor Doug Ducey to ban the use of smartphones and other handheld devices while driving.

The Governor’s Office of Highway Safety along with law agencies across the state has partnered to enforce the laws through its most recent campaign. The program, “Buckle Up Arizona …It’s the Law!” was started by police departments and the Arizona Highway Patrol on May 20th and will run through June 2nd. The “Buckle Up Arizona …It’s the Law!” campaign is a part of the nationwide program, “Click it or Ticket.”

The Maricopa County Sheriff’s Department said that such programs had done a great deal to reduce the number of fatalities in crashes in the state by approximately 50% when used properly. Child restraints and safety seats have found to reduce injury or death by as much as 71% for infants under1-year-old and 54% for toddlers 1 to 4 years-of-age. Booster seats used for children ages 4 -8 years old reduce risk of serious injury by as much as 45%.

Arizona has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to seatbelts and child restraint laws.


Related Frequently Asked Questions

  • 20 Sep 2019
    How To Get A Car Accident Police Report In Phoenix, AZ?
    After a Phoenix, Arizona car accident, there are several steps you need to take to ensure the safety of everyone involved and protect your legal right to recover compensation. Your first step should always be to call for emergency medical care and move the accident from the road if it is safe to do so. Nex
  • 29 Oct 2019
    What If I Hit The Other Vehicle In Tucson, AZ?
    Just because you hit the other vehicle does not immediately mean that you are to blame and will be held liable for the accident. Nor does it automatically mean that you are barred from recovering compensation to pay for damages. Many other factors need to be considered before the fault can be placed on a driv

Related Blog Posts

  • 17 Mar 2017
    Lost Wages After a Car Accident
    Lost Wages After a Car Accident- How to Make a Successful Wage Loss Claim After An Accident (more…)
  • 08 Mar 2016
    Sinkhole in Gilbert
    Sinkhole in Gilbert It may have looked like a scene from an apocalypse movie as construction crews in Gilbert worked to determine what caused the road to collapse and form a hole that swallowed a pick-up truck last Monday night. (more…)

Get Your Free Case Evaluation

If you or a loved one has suffered an injury, or worse... we are here to help.
Please don't hesitate to reach out.

Zanes Law Logo
Click to call
x

Get Your Free Case Evaluation

By submitting this form I agree to the Terms of Use