14 Year Old Crashes Car And Kills Passenger

Teens can legally drive as early as 14 years of age if they obtain a learners permit in the state where they live. When driving at such an early age, these states usually require a licensed adult to be in the vehicle with them to assist in gaining valuable driving experience and learn the rules of the road. In the state of Arizona, teens aged 15 years and 6 months may be issued a learner’s permit. When they turn 16, they are given a restricted license and need to wait an additional 6 months to be considered a fully licensed driver.

A 14- year-old driver and four other teen passengers were involved in a crash that took the life of one of them and left others in the vehicle seriously injured.

AZ Central reported that the fatal crash happened in Mesa on Sunday, April 7th at approximately 9:00 p.m. The 14-year-old was on East Southern Avenue when she attempted to make a left-hand turn into a local convenience store and gas station. The teen’s vehicle collided with an eastbound vehicle, killing a 14- year-old passenger. They were pronounced dead at the scene. The driver only suffered minor injuries.

The three other teens in the car consisted of another 14-year-old and two 15-year olds. Because all of those in the vehicle are considered minors in the eyes of the law, their identities were not released by authorities. The three teen passengers were taken to an area hospital for treatment and were being treated for life-threatening injuries at the time of the report.

Mesa Police Department spokesperson, Nik Rashea, said in a statement to the media that the driver in the other vehicle involved in the fatal crash was uninjured and a passenger in their vehicle only suffered minor injuries.

The accident is still currently under investigation and police are trying to determine whether the 14-year-old driver was in any way impaired at the time of the crash.

 


Related Frequently Asked Questions

  • 26 Feb 2019
    What if I Got Into a Car Accident in a Rental Car?
    As far as a rental company is concerned, if you got into a car accident in a rental car, you are ultimately responsible for the cost of repairing the car — even if the accident was not your fault. This does not mean you have to fund these repairs out of your own pocket. If you have the appropriate insura
  • 04 Mar 2019
    What if Both Drivers Are Partially at Fault in a Car Accident?
    Arizona Statute § 12-2505 dictates that each party can likely still recover compensation even if both drivers are partially at fault in a car accident. This is because Arizona personal injury law is based on the idea of pure comparative negligence (as opposed to pure contributory negligence or proportional c

Related Blog Posts

  • 23 Jun 2017
    Top Five Types of Car Accident Cases That Win Almost Every Time
    Top Five Types of Car Accident Cases That Win Almost Every Time It’s bad enough that you were in a car accident that wasn’t your fault, and now you have to deal with all of the hassles that follow.  Dealing with an insurance company that does not have your best interests in mind and gettin
  • 31 Aug 2018
    Car Accidents and Senior Drivers: A Hard Look at the Facts
    Car Accidents and Senior Drivers:A Hard Look at the Facts Feel a pang of worry every time Grandma or Granddad gets behind the wheel? It’s understandable. Senior drivers make up 18 percent of all traffic fatalities, and, except for teen drivers, senior drivers have the highest fatality rate per mile d

Get Your Free Case Evaluation

If you or a loved one has suffered an injury, or worse... we are here to help.
Please don't hesitate to reach out.

Zanes Law Logo
Click to call
x

Get Your Free Case Evaluation

By submitting this form I agree to the Terms of Use